Ceremonial Room Wall of Lieutenant Governor Portraits


Collage of former Lieutenant Governors Kealoha, King, Richardson, Hirono, and Schatz

Upon this wall lies the portraits of the 15 former lieutenant governors to serve the state of Hawaii. 

Our journey begins with James Kealoha, the inaugural lieutenant governor, a testament to the rich cultural tapestry of Hawaii, being the first-generation son of a Cantonese immigrant father and a native Hawaiian mother. 

Moving along the timeline, we encounter William S. Richardson, whose service extended beyond the lieutenant governorship to become the Chief Justice of the Hawaii State Supreme Court from 1966 to 1982. Such was his impact that the University of Hawaii Law School is named in his honor, a fitting tribute to a distinguished career. 

Four former Lieutenant Governors went on to serve as Governor, including George Ariyoshi, John D. Waiheʻe, Ben Cayetano, and Josh Green. Josh Green is the current Governor.  

Two former Lieutenant Governors, Mazie Hirono and Brian Schatz, continue to serve Hawaii as our current U.S. Senators, their journey from this office to the national stage exemplifying the depth of leadership that emerges from Hawaii’s political landscape. 

There have only been three women to ever serve as Lieutenant Governor. The first was Jean King, the seventh lieutenant governor of Hawaii. With King’s ambition and tenacity, she paved the way for women with political aspirations to follow suit. Senator Mazie Hirono served as Hawaii’s tenth lieutenant governor and first Japanese immigrant to hold the position.   

Our journey through history concludes with Sylvia Luke, the current Lieutenant Governor, embodying the spirit of service and leadership. As we stand surrounded by these portraits, we witness the continuum of Hawaii’s political legacy, where each leader has left an indelible mark on the state they’ve served.

Want to learn more about the Lieutenant Governor’s Office? Explore additional stops on the virtual tour by clicking here